love a threat to the gospel …. really?????

urlI have been shocked more than I thought I could by the reaction of some, mainly evangelical church leaders, to the news that World Vision has decided to hire people who are in loving same sex relationships. Some leaders are actually saying people should boycot World Vision, as in stop sponsoring amazing child poverty relief and education programs, which make an amazing difference, just because World Vision are going to have an open recruitment policy.

I am not sure if this makes me angry or sad or both.

I could write lots but Rachel has written excellently here … so go read …Rachel says:

And it puts into stark, unsettling relief just how out-of-control the evangelical obsession with homosexuality has become. Organizations don’t get “farewelled” for hiring divorcees. People don’t get kicked out of their churches for struggling with pride or for not wearing head coverings when they pray.  (See “Everyone’s a Biblical Literalist Until You Bring Up Gluttony.”But when it comes to homosexuality, Trevin Wax and many others have decided “the gospel is at stake.” 

That paragraph sums up what really concerns me. This seeming obsession with sexuality that people have lost the plot to such an extent that they are actually recommending a course of action that would result in children starving … that is so painfully ridiculous to comprehend.

Anyway … be sad …  be angry …  be whatever … but pray for World Vision!

Oh … and you could always sponsor a World Vision child!

3 thoughts on “love a threat to the gospel …. really?????

  1. I read your post a day or two ago and it keeps coming back to me. Today I read that they have withdrawn the policy and asked to be forgiven. I suppose that’s what happens when pressure is brought to bear. I have no words really. 😦 It’s just such a tragic reflection of how self involved ‘we’ have become with our prejudices and policies. At least we do know that WV heart is actually softer than their policy reflects….

  2. Pingback: 10 000 kids!!!!!!!!! | The Shiny Headed Prophet

Leave a comment