Burma update

New readers here (welcome!) may not be aware that I am half Burmese on my fathers side. I have only really been aware of this for the last 15 or so years and since then have taken a keen interest in Burma as a nation. Things are moving positively in this nation … but with the release of Aung San Sui Kyi I have noticed a complacency setting in from the west thinking that the country is now sorted. It isn’t …  Sui Kyi was recently asked ‘where do you think Burma is on a scale of 1 to 10 in its move to democracy?’ her response ‘on the way to one’.

Please keep campaigning; the start is good but there is a long way to go! Please respond to the letter below as best you can:

Dear friend

My name is Wai Hnin Pwint Thon. In less than 2 weeks’ time, on Saturday 20 October I will be jumping from a plane 2 miles high. I am jumping to raise funds to campaign for the release of all political prisoners in Burma and also to provide direct help and support to those prisoners who have been released.

Please support me by sponsoring me.

There are hundreds of political prisoners who have been released who need direct support and who are suffering form trauma and stress after years of torture and persecution in Burma’s prisons. Hundreds more remain in prison now.  Hundreds of families are suffering as I did. Sons are without their fathers and daughters are without their mothers.

As a daughter of a former political prisoner, I know how it feels to be separated. When I was four, I first saw my father, a democracy activist, through prison bars during the first of two long prison sentences. When I was growing up I always wondered why my father could not be with us.

I am determined to bring freedom for all jailed political activists in Burma and to provide direct help and support for when they’re released.

Please support me by sponsoring my jump. Your help will give enormous encouragement to them that they are not alone in this struggle for freedom in Burma.

Thank you for your support.

Wai Hnin

 

Leave a Reply

