day 3 …. life stories

Today has been a day of hearing stories of people. This morning, the daily office was led by one of the lay readers and she shared her story with me … and it was fascinating and I love hearing stories of people. Later in the morning I wandered to Wetherspoons and caught up with 2 or 3 people, again hearing more of their stories. This afternoon I visited the family of someone who recently died and whose funeral service I will conduct. I had  a fascinating and special time hearing their story and the story of their mum. I genuinely left their home wishing I had met the person in real life.

Today, on reflection, I would not say I have learned anything new or necessarily acquired new skills … but I have learned new things about new people … and that is a real privilege of my work.

Leave a Reply

