at least there’ll be a draught!

One of my Christmas presents this year from my lovely mother-in-law was a trilogy of poetry anthologies I have been wanting for a little while. I have been dipping in and out of these since Christmas day and think I have adopted ‘The Door‘ a poem by Miroslav Holub as a motto at least for the first part of 2012. This year I have not made any resolutions as such …. or maybe I have …

Go outside and open the door.
    Maybe outside there’s
    a tree, or a wood,
    a garden,
    or a magic city.

Go and open the door. 
    Maybe a dog’s rummaging..
    maybe you’ll see a face,
or an eye,
or the picture,
                      of a picture.

Go and open the door.
    If there’s fog
    it will clear.

Go and open the door.
    Even if there’s only
    the darkness ticking,
    even if there’s only
    the hollow wind,
    even if
              nothing
                          is there,
go and open the door.

At least
there’ll be
a draught. 

 This year will be a year of change for us. My curacy at the cathedral is coming to an end by September. I know what I want to happen next, but that is in the hands of a higher authority … and by that I mean the God who created me!

The blog has been quiet since Christmas Day because I have needed space to be able to make that statement above … you know – the one about believing I know what I want to do next! There has been so much activity and I have been immersed in such great stuff that I have neglected to take time out an think and mull and dream …. and most importantly listen.

I have been pushing a few doors of enquiry because I have grown up in the wing of the church that says ‘that is how you do thing’s. I was always told you push doors and see if God opens them. Sometimes that is right.  I also think sometimes we can use that as an excuse. Sometimes we all know that if we push doors lightly there is no danger of them opening! Sometimes I have fooled myself into thinking I have pushed a door when I have merely nudged it lightly. Sometimes I even wonder whether God is bored of opening the doors which he has given us hands to open ourselves! Maybe there is a need to grow up and take responsibility? … just saying!

Rather than just pushing, sometimes it is necessary to fully open doors, step through and experience what is on the other side. There is always the option to turn around and close the door afterwards. As Holub says … ‘if nothing else there will be a draught’ … it won’t be the same … the door is not opened in vain. So … these last few days I have been opening doors to see what happens!

So … I guess I have kind of made some form of resolution … to open, not push, the door!

One thought on “at least there’ll be a draught!

  1. Pingback: change overload? | The Shiny Headed Prophet

Leave a Reply

