on track ….

Today I caught up with Ian, my mentor, in Scooter Cafe in Waterloo, which is probably one of my favourite places in London to have a coffee. As I walked there from the station I was shocked by the realisation that I have not had coffee since before I was ordained as this was a place where I did a lot of my thinking, essay writing and reading. I found the creative ‘vibe’ here to be something that was easy to tune into … and today was pretty much the same.

I think it is fair to say that I have been struggling over the last few weeks to grasp what is happening around me and the correct way forward. Today, probably more so than at any other time in my life, I saw the immediate importance of having someone you really respect totally outside the situation, who understands what you are about, who can speak wisdom in such a way that things rapidly become obvious.

This morning we spoke about many things and I was able to view things from a different perspective. Most importantly I have come away with a plan in my mind, a plan or idea for us as the gathering  community that I hope will promote our growth, serve our identity and so make it easier for people to understand what we are about.

Today was a good day … and tomorrow morning it just so happens that i see Sister Diana, my spiritual director, in Edenbridge so that should help as well!

The moral of my story …. we all need people, friends, mentors and spiritual directors and inspirational places to keep us on track.

Leave a Reply

