what if Jesus really meant what he said?

My thoughts have been following a theme recently; particularly since the video I posted on my last blogpost regarding Christians who seem top have lost the plot about who Jesus is, what he stands for and how Christians follow, or don’t follow, his example.

My wonderfully helpful mentor, Ian, suggested recently I read Shane Claiborne’s Irresistible Revolution. I enjoyed the book but was also made to feel incredibly uncomfortable as it is a thoroughly challenging read.

Thanks to Alice I have been been directed to this interview that Shane Claiborne gave to Esquire magazine when asked to address those who don’t believe. He reminds people of what the bible really says which sometimes gets him into a lot of trouble, such as:

‘It is so simple, but the pious forget this lesson constantly. God may indeed be evident in a priest, but God is just as likely to be at work through a prostitute … scripture is brimful of God using folks like a lying prostitute called Rahab and an adulterous king named David.’

As I said I am challenged by his words …. whether you have a faith or not, why not check out this article

As an add on comment, I guess I’m drawing attention to this because I am finding myself challenged in my role as part of the church, the Body of Christ. There is so much we can and should be doing, but we seem to make a mere scratch due to some political worry or other.

I believe the question in the title is a no brainer! Of course Jesus meant what he said … what I am asking is how do I follow and take those words seriously? I guess it’s the old question: ‘how can I live out my faith in the way Jesus would if he was here?’

Leave a Reply

