meeting Jesus

I led the monthly Taize service in the cathedral last night. This is a calm, meditative and contemplative service with lots of pauses and silences. I enjoy this service as it allows people to simply take their time with God.

I changed the format a little last night. usually the format is that of chants interspersed by two readings and silences after the readings. Last night I chose to replace one of the readings with a guided meditation which people seemed to find quite powerful. The theme for this month was ‘meeting Jesus’.

I used a meditation that I have adapted and used before from a very old youth work book called ’40 Devotions that work with Youth’ which is a little gem I pull off the shelf now and again. A number of people asked for a copy of the ‘Meeting Jesus’ meditation and so if you are interested you can download it from here.

Leave a Reply

