climbing the mountain

Saturday … a great day.
I got up early and had a morning stroll around Fremont with my camera. I love taking photos when the place is just waking up … the mist was rolling up the lake and slowly embracing the footfalls of the bridge. It was good to watch.

I had an early breakfast in Roxy’s Diner …. very large with a bottom-less cup of coffee which I already know is something i am going to miss when I leave here. I managed to grab a quick chat with Tom on the mobile to wish him happy birthday and then also managed a longer chat with everyone over skype, which is an amazing tool for times such as these, and probably better quality than the paid for call I made earlier in the day.

I then went on a hike in The Cascades with Matt and Phil from COTA, two excellent guys who gave up their Saturdayto give me an experience I won’t forget in a while. We walked a couple of miles but ascended 1100 feet to Rattlesnake Ledge and were rewarded with some stunning views which I have uploaded in the flickr album. You need to scroll down the bottom to see the newer photos. The pic here is the view from the top of Rattlesnake Ledge. Following that experienced a nbit more American culture … FatBurger and Krispy Kreme

It has been a great day and in a bout 30 minutes Karen will pick me up and we are going to meet some Canadian visitors and have dinner with them. Tomorrow will be quite a packed day … but that’s tomorrows blog innit!

One thought on “climbing the mountain

  1. Sounds like a great start to the day Rob . Just re read the essay you sent and it now feels rather like a mountain top experience even though one associates that with a feeling of freedom and spaciousness and as you were writing it certainly didnot feel that way . Very certain ( well as much as one can be ) that Seattle may well chnage your life more thatn you had anticipated . Jean

Leave a Reply

