No ribbons

I have had a few conversations recently about faith with various people and they all seem to boil down to whether faith can or can’t change.

It seems to me that there is a lot of looking and deciding and packing away with the ‘this is what I believe, I’ve investigated that, and that part of my faith is set and won’t change.’ It is then neatly boxed and brought out, but not unwrapped, to be used in some argument about what is right or wrong – or in my experience more of a who is right and who is wrong!

I find that approach difficult as it seems to me that as I look back my faith is changing. It’s a different faith to the one I had when I was 18, and when I was 25, and 40 and so on. It seems to me that the more we investigate and keeps things open the greater, or more rounded, our faith becomes. Surely this is natural as our understanding of other things changes then surely faith should change.

This cartoon is cool and helpful. Maybe if we regarded faith as a gift (rather than as something to be protected or tied up) as Jon over at ASBO Jesus is suggesting then our faith would continue to grow. A faith with no ribbons …. I like the sound of that because I want my faith to continue to deepen rather than allow me to box it away somewhere where it will get dusty.

Leave a Reply

