Hoplessness of Easter


I have deliberately not been blogging over this past (Holy) week. I have been using the time to reflect on the season we are in.

After the run through of the Easter services yesterday I ended up with a colleague speaking to a young homeless couple who are sleeping near the cathedral. I’m not going to share too much out of respect and dignity but I was struck by a comment when we asked if they had been to the cathedral to ask for food :’we don’t like to because we feel embarrassed by asking’

Yesterday I felt helpless and hopeless. I wanted to help but, beyond giving them a little of my time and a bag of food from the cathedral store, there was little we could do. The local authority is not helping because they don’t have ID.

I got home and was quite struck by my helplessness and felt quite hopeless. I had spent a day reading and writing and then rehearsing, while outside those that Jesus came for as well were hungry and shivering.

I was particularly moved by the vulnerability of this couple. The hopelessness of their situation. Here were the son and daughter of someone, here were children of God, here was God himself asking to be cared for. Today I still feel ‘heavy’ as I acknowledge my limitations and take on an understanding that Jesus also had to walk away from situations.

In a way I think this, in a different light, is possibly how some of the disciples felt during this week. They could see their friend arrested, beaten, moved between Pilate and Herod and wanting to help. A burning inside them that demanded they do something to make the situation better. A sickening rising within them as they realised there was nothing that they could do.

The hopelessness of Easter precedes the joy.

One thought on “Hoplessness of Easter

  1. It is a tough line to walk, between showing compassion and doing what one can for those who are so obviously in dire need, and taking the Official stance of “We cannot help you because you do not officially exist”. It seems to me that many people fall by the wayside and disappear off the official register because the system cannot handle anyone who does not fit the rigid criteria. I too have been reflecting upon what you told me Rob and I think that you have done a lot more than many in authority by showing them that you care for their situation, offering them help,food and comfort and by most importantly showing they are as important as anyone else in GOD’s eyes. They too have shown that they are afraid of what other think,when we know that as Christian, in the true spirit of the word, we would not judge their predicament, merely offer help and support till they are better off.Darren.

Leave a Reply

